白石畫廊銀座新館欣然舉辦岡田修二個展《立花》,展覽首次展出藝術家近年創作的新作品系列“立花”。岡田修二一直對生物及其環境、民族學和人類學有著濃厚的興趣,亦曾嘗試以不同方法以生態學角度轉換藝術表現。他的許多作品都以實地考察為基礎,借助自然形態的力量並持續探索具有獨特性的現實主義,並超越人類中心主義,展現仍被隱藏的豐富多彩的世界。藝術家通過與粗糙世界的交匯打開感覺的開關,這技術正是岡田修二追求的藝術形式。

是次展覽的新系列作品“立花”以小花和野草為主體,靈感來自日本傳統花道藝術,主題是“以花作為神靈附體端莊威嚴地屹立著”,並以大型影像賦予微小謙虛的植物神聖的力量,同時感受到與萬物有靈論及祭祀儀式化之間的聯繫。

岡田修二的表現形式同時具有寫實性、獨特性和現代性。藝術家在世界面臨環境問題的時代實踐現代方式的自然美學,並嘗試以新的方式表現日本文化精神。在本次展覽中將展出最新的大型作品,以及於經濟雜誌“New Leader”2019年封面刊登的12幅作品。歡迎大家光臨體驗以五彩繽紛的花為主題打造的奢華空間。

岡田修二
1959年生於香川縣。畢業於愛知縣立藝術大學研究生院後就職於電通公司。2007年在京都市立藝術大學完成博士課程,其博士論文獲梅原獎。岡田修二在滋賀縣立現代美術館和大原美術館(岡山)曾舉辦大型個展,並於在Saison當代美術館(長野)“ART TODAY 2009”舉辦雙人展。最近的群展包括2017年的“日本寫實主義 逼真的魔力:Realism Art in Japan”(函館美術館,豐橋市美術館,奈良縣立美術館)。他曾獲多個獎項,包括第二屆上野之森美術館大獎展特別優秀獎,VOCA ’98鼓勵獎和大和基金會獎(倫敦)。岡田修二的許多作品被收藏為公共藏品,包括上野之森美術館(東京)、大原美術館、Saison當代美術館、文化廳、滋賀縣現代美術館、高松市美術館、大阪府、美穗美術館(滋賀)、愛知縣立藝術大學、第一生命保險公司(東京)。他曾擔任紐約ADC的國際成員,京都大學心之未來研究中心的共同研究員以及倫敦大學金史密斯學院的客座研究員。藝術家現任成安造形大學教授兼校長。

Whitestone Ginza New Gallery is pleased to announce a solo exhibition of Shuji Okada, “Rikka”. It is his first solo show of “Rikka”, a series that he began in the recent years.

Having a keen interest in living creatures and its environment, ethnology, anthropology and others for a long time, Okada has been trying various ways of expressing his arts with some ecological changes. Many of his works are originated from his field works, and pursuing his own realism by bringing out power from natural forms; transcending anthropocentrism, revealing abundance of the yet still concealed world. Through interlacing with the coarse world, he opens the circuit of sensibility. Such technique is the arts that Okada pursues.

The motifs of his new series “Rikka” are little flowers and wild grass. Okada was inspired by the Japanese traditional flower arrangement, Ikebana. The theme of “Rikka” is ‘arranging flowers with reverence as representative of divine spirit’. In view of this, little plants are painted visually with closeups and motions to give them dignified appearances, where we could also see a relation with animism and festival rites.

Such painterly expression of Okada has an aspect of realism at the same time combines uniqueness and contemporaneousness. By practicing the aesthetics that inherent in nature in modern ways that appropriate in the era of environmental conservation, Okada also realizes the unconventional approach to express the spirit of Japanese culture. At this exhibition, 12 works used for the covers of monthly economic magazine “New Leader” and latest large works are shown. It would be our great pleasure if you could feel the gorgeous space brimmed with the multicolored flowers.

Shuji Okada
Born in Kagawa Prefecture in 1959. After finishing master’s course of Aichi University of the Arts, Okada worked at Dentsu Inc. Completed the doctoral course at Kyoto City University of Arts in 2007. Awarded Umehara Prize for doctoral dissertation. Held large-scale solo exhibitions at The Museum of Modern Art, Shiga and Ohara Museum of Art (Okayama). Two artists Exhibition at ART TODAY 2009 at Sezon Museum of Modern Art (Nagano). Recent group exhibitions include “Nippon’s Realism Majic: Realism Art in Japan” at Hakodate Museum of Art, Hokkaido, Toyohashi City Museum of Art and History, and Nara Prefectural Museum of Art in 2017. He has received many awards, including the 2nd Ueno Royal Museum Grand Prize Exhibition Special Excellence Award, the VOCA Exhibition ’98 Encouragement Award, and the Daiwa Foundation Award (London). Many art works are stored as public collections such as Ueno Royal Museum (Tokyo), Ohara Museum of Art, Sezon Museum of Modern Art, Agency for Cultural Affairs, The Museum of Modern Art, Shiga, Takamatsu Art Museum, Osaka, Miho Museum (Shiga), Art museum of Aichi University of Arts, and The Dai-ichi Life Insurance Company (Tokyo). He has been a member of ADC International New York, a collaborator at the Kokoro Research Center Kyoto University, and a visiting fellow at Goldsmiths College at the University of London. Currently He is a professor and president of Seian University of Art and Design.