白石畫廊榮幸地宣佈將在銀座新館呈現亞洲抽象繪畫巡迴展,將20世紀二戰後興起的日本「具體派」、以及在中國80年代晚期出現的抽象繪畫嘗試相連接。

日本「具體派」作為日本戰後藝術的代表,受到西方表現主義的影響,他們打破傳統繪畫形 式,將具體形象瓦解,並將其形式上升到精神性的表現。並結合創作過程的表演,探討物質 與 周圍的對話方式。作為具體派代表人物,1956年以<電氣服>一作撼動國際藝壇的女性藝 術家田中敦子,在平面作品中衍生鮮豔的線條與圓圈,以大尺幅繪畫表現人類與物質間震動 關係。 前川強則受到從日本上野原發現的古老陶器圖案啟發,在畫布 上立體地貼上麻布並縫合,再以豐富的油彩上色。他ㄧ生致力 於麻布的物質性,將此媒材橫跨整個生涯的創作,使 「麻布」 成為前川強象徵性的存在。

中國的抽象藝術則是興起於80年代改革開放之後,藝術家們從政治畫及現實主義的形式中解 放,受 到西方哲學和美學思想的影響,開始在模仿或借鑑中尋找自己的文化方式。丁乙被認 為是中國抽象 派畫家中的先驅者,「十」字以及變體的「X」是他主要的視覺符號,用以超 越和對抗當時中國典 型的政治、社會寓言繪畫。朱金石在2000年重歸繪畫後,他的「厚繪畫」 是以「反繪畫」的姿態創 作,用厚重油彩突出層層色塊,產生雕塑般的立體感,瓦解了80年 代抽象主義相對單一的概念,將 中國的抽象藝術拓展出新的脈絡。

本次的展覽梳理了20世紀東亞的抽象藝術發展,讓觀眾一次觀看戰後重要的抽象藝術家,洞 悉抽象 藝術在東亞的發展脈絡。本展覽於3月13日至4月4日於白石畫廊銀座新館進行展出。

參與藝術家:
陳文驥 / 余友涵 / 丁乙 / 尚揚 / 譚平 / 朱金石 / 前川強 / 田中敦子

Whitestone Ginza New Gallery is proud to present you the exhibition of Asian abstract art. For this time, we are connecting Gutai art association from Japan who upraised after World War II and abstract painting that emerges in the late 80 of China.
Gutai art association represents the art scene in Japan after world war II. Gutai artists were highly influenced by Expressionism of the west. They broke down the traditional form of painting, reconstructed the image and transcended the physical form into spiritual representation. They treated their creative processes as performances where they would discover the dialogue between materiality and its surrounding. Female artist, Atsuko Tanaka, as one of the prominent figure of Gutai art association, presented her “Electric Dress” in 1956 and excited the international art scene. She put her bright line and circles on the flat surface of paper in large size canvas to express the vibration between human and object. Tsuyoshi Maekawa, inspired by the patterns on the ancient pottery found in Ueno, Japan, stitched linen on to the flat canvas and then applied plentiful of color on his works. He dedicated his whole life to the materiality of linen which has become the signature of Tsuyoshi Maekawa.
Chinese abstract art started after the Reform and Opening in the 1980’s. Artists liberated themselves from propaganda and social realism artistic formation. Highly influenced by western philosophy and aesthetic, they began to discover their own culture in art through imitation and referencing. Ding Yi was considered to be the pioneer of Chinese abstract art. Both the character — “十” — and the variant —”X” — are the primary symbols used in his series of works . His works not only transcend but also confront the classic political and social fable paintings of China at the time. In 2000, Zhu Jinshi returned to painting. However, his impasto was to antagonize painting itself. By layering paint one by one, he created a thick color block which in return has a sculptural visual effect. By unpacking the concept of abstraction of the 1980s, a new chapter of Chinese abstract art was beginning to emerge.
The purpose of the exhibition is to show and analyze the development of abstract art in East Asia by providing the audiences with a list of important abstract artists found after World War II.

Represented artists:
Chen Wenji, Yu Youhan, Ding Yi, Shang Yang, Tan Ping, Zhu Jinshi, Tsuyoshi Maekawa, Atsuko Tanaka