白石畫廊台北隆重呈獻日本藝術家金丸悠兒的個展《飄浮動物園》。這次展覽將於白石畫廊台北內湖空間進行,2020年1月15日開始持續展出至2月16日,開幕酒會時間為1月18日下午6時至8時,藝術家本人亦將出席。

金丸悠兒的畫作不僅僅蘊含了對現代生活普遍性的表達,還有對古印度宇宙觀的創新探索。最初,金丸悠兒只是單純喜歡以動物為創作題材。偶然讀到古印度「蛇盤宇宙,龜負大地」神話 ̶ 跨越時間的太古生物,他便嘗試將人類生活的元素畫在動物的身上。他的作品色彩明亮且構圖簡潔,繪畫出具有不同象徵意義的動物,如智慧的大象、繼承的古代魚,以及長壽的烏龜等。面無表情的動物邀請觀者進行一場感知邂逅,並將自身經歷及情感投入其畫面中。正如他自己所說:「我欲創造一種容器讓觀者去表達自身的情感,並在本質上成為一個讓自我、藝術家及他人之間作情感交流的空間。」

展覽《飄浮動物園》展出的作品是金丸悠兒於2008年開始持續演化的〈拼貼動物〉系列的延續 ̶ 包括〈記憶町〉及〈宇宙樹〉系列,這些作品延續了藝術家對夢幻般的意象之探索。值得注意的是,雖然金丸悠兒原本已經常在重迭的空間環境中描繪超現實生物和結構,但在本次展覽的一些大型作品中,如〈齒輪行星〉,它由4個高低不一的部分組成,畫面的中央是一個球形世界,四周充滿了不同尺寸的飄浮大象,呈現天圓地方的概念 ̶ 它們就像是藝術家腦海中的宇宙觀。這些作品也體現了金丸悠兒純熟的色彩運用,其中在一幅名為〈上古55〉的畫布中,整幅採用了10種不同顏色作底色,配以數量遞增的古代魚,訴說著時間的流動和記憶的累積。

Whitestone Gallery Taipei is honoured to present Floating Zoo – the solo exhibition of Yuji KANAMARU. The exhibition will be on view at the gallery in Neihu from January 15 – February 16, with an opening reception in the presence of the artist on Saturday, January 18, from 6 – 8 pm.

KANAMARU’s paintings embody rather than merely represent the expression of modern universality and explore ancient Indian philosophy in innovative ways. He started to paint animals purely out of fondness. After reading the Hindu mythology, he then added elements of human life on his animals. His works are richly coloured, simple compositions that contain various animals with symbolic meaning, such as wise elephant, inherent ancient fish and long-lived tortoise. The expressionless animals invite viewers to a sensational encounter, allowing them to project their feelings into the paintings. As the artist notes, “I want to create a vessel into which the viewer can project their feelings, essentially creating a forum for the exchange of feelings between myself- the artist-and other people.

Floating Zoo introduces the works that are developed from his 2008 series Collage Animals – including the series of Memory Town and Universal Tree that continue the artist’s exploration of fantastic imagery. Notably, while KANAMARU regularly depicts his animals and structure in overlapping spaces and configurations, in some of the larger works, such as Gear Planet, the formation rendered by four equal parts. The aspherical world has been formed in the centre of the painting, with elephants in different scales floating around the planet. Such a concept of a round place is the artist’s philosophy. The works also testify to the range of ways KANAMARU applies colour in his art. One work, Ancient 55, featuring ten colours as background and ancient fishes, tells about the flow of time and the accumulation of memories.