偶爾在紙上或畫布上塗塗抹抹,就走出了一條路;多一筆少一筆就成了不一樣的東西;有時是一來一往的話語;又有時是不經思索的排放。於是有了這樣的起頭。

「走路、彎道、說話、尿尿」四個單詞分別來表述藝術家的繪畫狀態。它們看似無相關卻又不至於不對勁。如同展覽中的作品,對你招招手、又將你推開。

從作品中可以看出四人迥然的性格,也可以細察出資訊時代的共同感官經驗。生活中許多訊息與檔案交錯在一起,它們既好像跟你有關卻又無關。若將原有的認知系統喻為一串串珠,當節點斷了線,人們會忽然感受到某種落空與陌生。拜這種時刻所賜,我們才能貫穿想像力之中、擁有全新的視線。

捲捲的畫布將四種不同的繪畫語境鋪張開來。這裡的畫作不單指向他方,而是熟悉事物的重組、身體冷卻後的再連結。事物的意義被打亂且重新定義,彷彿最初創作者畫幾筆、退後看的實際經驗。

From time to time, a path is created by smearing on canvas or paper. Every and each of stroke matters, whether they merge or collide, they keep the conversation going, and sometimes it’s merely expression without second thoughts.

These words ‘Walking’, ‘Road Curve’, ‘Speaking’, ‘Peeing’, represent the artists’ state of drawing or painting respectively. They seem to be irrelevant; but they don’t contradict each other. Just like our exhibiting works, they wave to the viewers in a friendly manner, and the next second they got pushed away! It’s the tension the artists wish to create.

From the shown works, we are aware of four different personalities, connected by the common experience of the overloaded information age. Fragments of information and message intersect in our daily life, sometimes we feel related but sometimes we don’t. Let us put it this way: if our original cognitive system is referred as a string of beads, and out of sudden the knot is broken, while the beads fall, we feel a kind of emptiness and strangeness, or even alienation – our thoughts are detached. However, thanks to this magical moment, we can have our imagination wander again in order to have a whole new vision.

Rather than giving a whole new direction to the viewers, we intend to reconstruct elements that we are familiar with. The meaning of things is disrupted and redefined, the ‘signifier’ and the ‘signified’ no longer have an absolute connection; as if looking back at the nascent state: the painter puts a few strokes down, step back, form a shape before he/she notices…