春天像剛落地的娃娃,從頭到腳是新的,它生長著。春天像小姑娘,花枝招展的,笑著,走著。春天像健壯的青年,有鐵一般的胳膊和腰腳,領著我們上前去。
——朱自清

2020年之初不平靜,但春天並不因此而畏懼不來,天暖花盛開,相信世界將如同知名文學家朱自清的散文《春》所言,在春天的引領之下,恢復生意盎然。此時此刻,白石畫廊台北空間很榮幸地得以舉辦展覽《春逸:日本當代藝術聯展》,將展出九位藝術家充滿生命力與洋溢春天氣息的繪畫與雕塑。

河口洋一郎一手孕育的宇宙生物Eggy(蛋寶寶),各形各色,身上的漆彩鮮麗透著溫潤的細緻色澤,粉色帶著櫻花圖案的Eggy,吸收而反映出春天大地的能量。西村達也的貓系列作品,明快的構圖與色彩,呈現貓的各種姿態。同樣以貓為主角的國司華子,則以膠彩畫創造出獨特具流動感的畫面,呈現貓的慵懶。綿引展子以極為單純的形式描繪人物於和紙上,闡述天真無邪的感性以及人類虛無的悲哀。

多彩鮮豔的環氧樹脂現形於堅硬灰暗的水泥當中,彷彿逆境中的強勁生命力,ARTIST miu希望藉此喚醒現代人的「希望」。土屋仁応以傳統佛教雕刻技巧所創作的乳白色動物與幻獸,線條柔美、質地細緻,水晶鑲飾的眼睛神秘又栩栩如生。吳亞沙的作品在一片柔和粉綠中有著童話故事般的初春夢幻氛圍,畫中的兔子卻透露著淡淡的憂愁與孤獨感。

吉村郁子從小在家族事業的耳濡目染下,對食物充滿興趣,她畫作裡繽紛的食材與花卉,歡欣地邀請觀者參與一場視覺的春天饗宴。2019年以最年輕的入圍者之姿入圍傑出亞洲藝術獎的江上越,因豐富的海外求學經歷,使她重新思考人類的溝通模式,抽象與否,根據觀者與作品畫面距離而變化。

響應政府防疫政策,本展將不舉辦開幕活動,歡迎於展覽期間內,蒞臨參觀。

參與藝術家:
河口洋一郎 / 西村達也 / 綿引展子 / 國司華子 / ARTIST miu / 土屋仁応 / 吳亞沙 / 吉村郁子 / 江上越

“Spring is like a newborn baby, his whole body growing. Spring is like a little girl gorgeously dressed, walking with a smile. Spring, like a robust young man with the strong arms and waist and feet, leads us forward.”
by Zhu Ziqing

At the beginning of 2020, the world is not peaceful, but spring still came unflinchingly. With the weather warm and the flowers in full bloom, it is believed that the spring can bring the world back to life, according to the prose “Spring” by renowned essayist Zhu Ziqing. At this moment, Whitestone Gallery Taipei is honored to hold the group show titled “Spring Accent: Japanese Contemporary Art,” which will display nine artists’ paintings and sculptures full of vitality and spring air.

Eggy, a cosmic creature conceived by Yoichiro KAWAGUCHI, is in all shapes and colors. The lacquer on its body is bright and tender with delicate color. Eggy in pink and cherry blossom patterns absorbs and reflects the energy of the earth in spring. Tatsuya NISHIMURA’s work series featuring cats, with bright composition and color, presents all kinds of cat’s postures. Hanako KUNISHI, whose artwork revolving around cats, creates a unique and dynamic paintings with Nihonga to show the laziness of the cat. Nobuko WATABIKI depicts the characters on washi in a very simple form, expounding the innocent sensibility and the sorrow of nihility.

The colorful epoxy resin appears in the hard and dull cement, which manifests strong vitality in adversity, by which ARTIST miu wishes to awaken the “hope” in modern people. The milky white animals and magical creatures created by Yoshimasa TSUCHIYA using traditional Buddhist carving techniques are soft in lines and delicate in textures, with the eyes decorated with crystal being mysterious and lifelike. Asa GO’s piece is in a soft pink green with a dreamy atmosphere like a fairy tale in the early spring, while the rabbit in the painting reveals a touch of sadness and loneliness.

Icco YOSHIMURA grew up with an interest in food, inspired by her family’s business. The colorful ingredients and flowers in her paintings gleefully invite viewers to a visual spring feast. As the youngest finalist for the Sovereign Asian Art Prize in 2019, Etsu EGAMI’s extensive overseas study experience has made her re-ponder human communication models, abstract or not, depending on the distance between the viewer and the work.

In response to the government’s policy on epidemic prevention, there will be no opening reception of the exhibition. You are welcome to visit during the event.

Represented artists:
Yoichiro Kawaguchi, Tatsuya Nishimura, Nobuko Watabiki, Hanako Kunishi, ARTIST miu, Yoshimasa Tsuchiya, Asa Go, Icco Yoshimura, Etsu Egami