「我的風格就是最棒的風格。」未接受正規藝術教育的自學藝術家元永定正充滿自信地說。

元永定正(1922-2011)為具體派(註)的核心成員,除了初期所做的裝置藝術之外,在創作上實驗著新的表達方式和前所未見的形式,舉凡日常生活中可見的物質都能成為作品的媒材。在油畫的創作上,元永定正受到日本傳統繪畫中的技法「滴流式技法」(Tarashikomi)啟發,使用這樣的技法處理油畫,在乾與未乾之間,讓顏料呈現些許動態的效果,融合偶發性的美感與精心的設計,使整個畫面規則中又帶點自由的風格。1970年代後,元永定正開始嘗試使用罐裝噴漆,開創了一種清新而原創的風格,介於於塗鴉與卡通形式之間,創作出有著簡單線條和柔和原色的繪畫。

「他是一位平凡的人,他也有冷漠的一面,但當他靠近你時,你能感受到內心充滿著溫暖,也許是他所散發出的氣息吧。」元永定正的妻子辻悦子(Etsuko Nakatsuji)向這位溫暖人心的藝術家致敬。元永定正有著獨特的幽默感和樂觀的態度,他的風格並非來自生硬的藝術理論或觀念,而是服從自己的感覺,他時常戲稱自己為「aho ha (傻瓜派)」的藝術家, 也把作品稱為「滑稽藝術」。

2013年春季,紐約古根漢美術館【具體派:燦爛的樂園】展出元永定正的裝置藝術《水》,在博物館圓形大廳的360度空間裡,掛上無數的乙烯塑膠片,如同一張張透明的吊床,承載著渲染鮮豔顏色的液體,經由自然光線的照射,透出珠寶般璀璨透亮,觀眾可以漫步在展場中俯瞰或仰視 ,享受在不同空間感受到作品變化之樂趣 。

元永定正創作生涯中,主要獲得獎項包含: 第15屆日本藝術大獎(1964)、兵庫縣文化獎(1986)、藝術文學騎士獎(1988)、紫絲帶徽章(1991)、大阪藝術獎(1992)。其創作展於法國龐畢度中心(2020)、古根漢美術館(2013)、紐約現代美術館(1966及1973)等重要博物館,也於威尼斯雙年展(1993)、首爾國際版書雙年展(1983)等重要展覽備受好評。部分作品典藏於日本大阪國立國際美術館、京都國立近代美術館、東京都美術館、紐約現代藝術博物館等藝術機構。

註:具體派(1954-1972)為日本戰後最具影響力的前衛藝術團體,試驗全新藝術形式,在吉原治良的帶領下,以「創造出前所未有的事物!」、「不模仿他人」為宗旨,具體派藝術家們不斷試圖打破傳統藝術規則,藝術作品甚至可以出現巨大的尺寸,創作形式涵蓋複合媒材的裝置藝術、行為藝術表演等,以劇場式的互動,強調物質媒材與身體之間的關係, 代表藝術家包含田中敦子、白髮一雄、向井修二、前川強、松谷武判、上前智祐、名坂有子等。

“My style is the top style.” Self-taught artist, Sadamasa MOTONAGA said confidently.

MOTONAGA was a core member of Gutai Art Association 1. He sought new means of expression, unprecedented forms, brilliant colors and experimentation. He initially became famous for his drip paintings, which were inspired by the traditional Japanese technique of “tarashikomi” (wet-in-wet). Applying layers of liquid paint that were absorbed into the canvas in an irregular way.

Thereafter in the 1970s, the artist’s scratchy hand-drawn forms reappeared along with the use of canned spray paint, creating a style that was fresh and raw, akin to graffiti and animation. Creating paintings that are characterized by simple lines and a gentle palette of muted primary colors.

“He was human so he had his cold side too, but just his presence close at hand filled you with warmth. Perhaps it was a kind of aura.” Etsuko, the wife of MOTONAGA, pays tribute to him as an artist of human warmth.

MOTONAGA had a unique sense of humor and an optimistic attitude. He sometimes styled himself comically an artist of “aho ha (a foolish school).” His style was to work obeying his own feeling, without putting emphasis on art theories or ideas, while describing himself as foolish. In the latter stage of his creative career, he also created picture books for children. His humorous style has been popular through all ages.

In the spring of 2013, the exhibition ‘Gutai: Splendid Playground’ took place at Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York. At that exhibition, Sadamasa MOTONAGA’s “Work (Water),” installed in the huge wellhole of the museum. Comprising a series of vinyl sheets with dyed water, hung like hammocks. Gravity pulled the sheets into curved forms, allowing the water to pool at the bottom, while the changing natural light subtly affected its jewel-like colors throughout the day.

MOTONAGA was the recipient‭ ‬for several prizes‭, ‬including‭, ‬The Prize of Excellence at 15th‭ ‬Contemporary Art Exhibition of Japan‭, ‬1964‭; ‬Hyogo Cultural Prize‭, ‬1986‭; ‬Medal‭ ‬of Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters‭, ‬1988‭; ‬The Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon‭, ‬1991‭; ‬Osaka Art‭ ‬Prize‭, ‬1992‭. ‬His art has been the subject of many retrospective exhibitions‭, ‬most notably at‭ ‬The Centre Pompidou‭, ‬2020‭; ‬Solomon R‭. ‬Guggenheim Museum‭ ‬in New York‭, ‬1966‭ ‬and 1973‭. ‬Some of his art was collected in The National Museum of Art in Osaka‭, ‬The National Museum of Art in Kyoto‭, ‬MoMA‭, ‬etc.

Note 1: Gutai Art Association (1954-1972) – Most influential Japanese post-war avant-garde art movement. Experimenting new forms of art. Leading by Jiro YOSHIHARA, with the aim of “Don’t copy anyone! Do something that was never seen before! “ , Gutai artists continue to break the rules of conventional art. Their artworks can even appear in a form of huge installation and performance art. Emphasized on theatrical interaction between the medium of art and human body. Representative artists including, Atsuko TANAKA, Kazuo SHIRAGA, Shuji MUKAI, Tsuyoshi MAEKAWA, Takesada MATSUTANI, Chiyu UEMAE, Yuko NASAKA, etc.