白石畫廊榮幸地宣佈將在台北空間呈現「繪畫與存在」中日韓抽象繪畫巡迴展,將 20 世紀二戰後興起的日本「具體派」、 韓國單色繪畫,以及在中國 80 年代晚期出現的抽象繪畫嘗 試 相連接。作為此巡迴展的第二站,參展的藝術家和年初在香港 唐人藝術中心的首展將有所不同,期盼給台北的觀眾帶來更多 元的呈現。
日本「具體派」作為日本戰後藝術的代表,受到西方表現主義 的影響,他們打破傳統繪畫形 式,將具體形象瓦解,並將其形 式上升到精神性的表現。並結合創作過程的表演,探討物質 與 周圍的對話方式。作為具體派代表人物,1956年以<電氣服>一 作撼動國際藝壇的女性藝 術家田中敦子,在平面作品中衍生鮮 豔的線條與圓圈,以大尺幅繪畫表現人類與物質間震動 關係。 前川強則受到從日本上野原發現的古老陶器圖案啟發,在畫布 上立體地貼上麻布並縫合,再以豐富的油彩上色。他ㄧ生致力 於麻布的物質性,將此媒材橫跨整個生涯的創作,使 「麻布」 成為前川強象徵性的存在。
同時間的韓國,動盪的50年代,金煥基作為韓國最重要的現代抽象藝術先驅,以家鄉傳統題 材為靈 感,寄情於青瓷、白瓷、水墨與自然山水,質樸的單色構圖和重複筆觸為韓國70年代 的單色畫奠定 了基礎。到了70年代,尹亨根受到韓國古代書法家金正喜影響,通過松節油稀 釋顏料,使用容易暈 染的畫布,創造出類似宣紙的傳統油墨染色效果。鄭相和將高嶺土、水 及膠水混合,均勻塗上畫布, 待乾透後再將畫布從畫框上拆下,在背面畫滿直線和橫線,然後沿著網格折疊畫布使粘土自然裂開, 並將粘土一塊塊地拆下,再一塊塊地填上丙烯。和戰 後西方的極簡主義不同,極簡主義通過技術或 機械操作,使工業化顏料不留下主觀形象來達 到純粹的視覺效果。而韓國的單色畫則是通過反覆的 手工勞作,來達到畫面和精神的統一。
中國的抽象藝術則是興起於80年代改革開放之後,藝術家們從政治畫及現實主義的形式中解 放,受 到西方哲學和美學思想的影響,開始在模仿或借鑑中尋找自己的文化方式。丁乙被認 為是中國抽象 派畫家中的先驅者,「十」字以及變體的「X」是他主要的視覺符號,用以超 越和對抗當時中國典 型的政治、社會寓言繪畫。朱金石在2000年重歸繪畫後,他的「厚繪畫」 是以「反繪畫」的姿態創 作,用厚重油彩突出層層色塊,產生雕塑般的立體感,瓦解了80年 代抽象主義相對單一的概念,將 中國的抽象藝術拓展出新的脈絡。
本次的展覽梳理了20世紀東亞的抽象藝術發展,讓觀眾一次觀看戰後重要的抽象藝術家,洞 悉抽象 藝術在東亞的發展脈絡。本展覽於8月24至10月6日於台北白石畫廊展出後,2020 年 9 月回到當代唐 人藝術中心北京第二空間進行閉幕展。

參與藝術家:
陳文驥 / 余友涵 / 丁乙 / 尚揚 / 譚平 / 朱金石 / 田中敦子 / 前川強 / 金煥基 / 尹明老 / 鄭相和 / 河鐘賢 / 尹亨根 / 吳受桓

Whitestone Taipei is proud to present you the traveling exhibition of Asian abstract art – “Painting and Existence”. For this time, we are connecting Gutai art association from Japan who upraised after World War II with Korean monochrome and abstract painting that emerges in the late 80 of China. Being the second stop of the traveling exhibition, we have feature different artists from our first stop at Tang Contemporary Art Gallery. We wish to bring a variety of aspects into Taipei.

Gutai art association represents the art scene in Japan after world war II. Gutai artists were highly influenced by Expressionism of the west. They broke down the traditional form of painting, reconstructed the image and transcended the physical form into spiritual representation. They treated their creative processes as performances where they would discover the dialogue between materiality and its surrounding. Female artist, Atsuko Tanaka, as one of the prominent figure of Gutai art association, presented her “Electric Dress” in 1956 and excited the international art scene. She put her bright line and circles on the flat surface of paper in large size canvas to express the vibration between human and object. Tsuyoshi Maekawa, inspired by the patterns on the ancient pottery found in Ueno, Japan, stitched linen on to the flat canvas and then applied plentiful of color on his works. He dedicated his whole life to the materiality of linen which has become the signature of Tsuyoshi Maekawa.

At the same time in South Korea, in the unsettling period of 50s, Kim Whanki, as the most important abstract artist in Korean modernism, he focused his works on country landscape. By applying traditional Korean elements including celadon, white porcelain, ink, and natural landscapes, the simple monochrome composition and repeated brushstrokes laid the very foundation for later Korean abstraction. For instance, in 1970, Yun Hyongkeun was inspired by Kim as well as Korean calligrapher Kim Jong-ho, diluting pigments with turpentine to create the similar effect of traditional ink dying on rice paper. In the same manner, Chung Sanghwa utilised kaolinite to mix with water and glue to allow even application on the canvas. When the mixture is dry, he would remove the canvas from the frame and draw lines all over at the back of the canvas. He folded the canvas according to the lines that he has drawn to allow the solidified mixture to crack naturally for it to be removed piece by piece and filled with acrylic. Differ from the post-war western minimalism, through modern technology and mechanical operation, these artists expressed the pure visual effect without the subjective impression of industrial paints. Instead, these Korean monochrome artists used repeated hand labor to unify the visual image and spirit.

Chinese abstract art started after the Reform and Opening in the 1980’s. Artists liberated themselves from propaganda and social realism artistic formation. Highly influenced by western philosophy and aesthetic, they began to discover their own culture in art through imitation and referencing. Ding Yi was considered to be the pioneer of Chinese abstract art. Both the character — “十” — and the variant —”X” — are the primary symbols used in his series of works . His works not only transcend but also confront the classic political and social fable paintings of China at the time. In 2000, Zhu Jinshi returned to painting. However, his impasto was to antagonize painting itself. By layering paint one by one, he created a thick color block which in return has a sculptural visual effect. By unpacking the concept of abstraction of the 1980s, a new chapter of Chinese abstract art was beginning to emerge.

The purpose of the exhibition is to show and analyze the development of abstract art in East Asia by providing the audiences with a list of important abstract artists found after World War II. The Taipei exhibition will be featured from August 24 to October 6th @ Whitestone Gallery Taipei. After that, the exhibition will continue as it returns to Tang Contemporary Art Gallery in September 2020.

Represented artists:
Chen Wenji, Yu Youhan, Ding Yi, Shang Yang, Tan Ping, Zhu Jinshi, Atsuko Tanaka, Tsuyoshi Maekawa, Su Fan Oh, Myeung Ro Youn, Sang Hwa Chung, Chong Hyun Ha, Kim Whanki