白石畫廊台北空間榮幸地呈獻日本藝術家Tetsuo Mizù的個展《Mizù in Taipei》。作為藝術家在台灣的首次個展,本次展覽將展出藝術家從90年代創作至今的畫作,2019年10月12日開幕,展期至12月1日。開幕茶會時間為10月12日下午4時。

Mizù因獨創性地將幾何形狀和厚塗色塊融合成一種抽象的視覺語言而備受讚賞。Mizù年輕時曾就讀於日本武藏野美術大學,亦加入自由藝術協會,發展出自身獨特的後具體派美學,有別於日本傳統的現代抽象派繪畫風格。Mizù的畫作色彩豐富、構圖簡潔,以充斥著直覺與熱情的質感及筆觸表達理性結構。他透過組合海事旗語的特定形狀、顏色與圖案,同時抽離出當中的具體詞彙,建構出帶有神秘感的詩意性語言。畫布上的純色及構圖張力訴說內在心理狀態與回憶,超越文化分歧,意圖達至宇宙和諧的理想烏托邦。

展覽《Mizù in Taipei》將展出超過50件的Mizù作品,聚焦於藝術家自1990年至2019年間創作的作品,當中包括油彩畫布、紙本作品,以及木材雕塑。〈SAMBA〉是一幅方型油彩畫布,它由5面旗及3種色彩所組成,而當中象徵激情和生命力的紅色,正好與題目〈SAMBA〉(中譯為森巴,乃葡萄牙語,意指一種韻律鮮明強烈的舞蹈)互相呼應。而糅合了歐洲及東亞風格的肖像畫〈無題〉,則可看到義大利藝術家亞美迪歐・莫迪里安尼(Amedeo Modigliani)及日本藝術家藤田嗣治對Mizù的影響,他運用日本畫纖細的線條勾勒出女性形象,以柔美的線條呈現出西洋畫的質感。

Tetsuo Mizù 1944年出生於日本東京,1973年畢業於武藏野美術大學,1983年移居歐美及曾居住在羅馬和巴黎等多個城市。他在日本和世界各地廣泛展出作品,如1997年荷蘭鹿特丹海事博物館;1994年法國巴黎夏樂宮及巴黎國立海洋博物館;1989年西班牙巴塞隆納的《夏卡爾、達利、畢卡索、梅洛瓦、Mizù在B.I.A.F. Art Inter AG》,以及於比利時、德國、日本及香港等地舉辦個展等等。

Mizù的作品獲義大利羅馬聖亞納教堂、法國濱海夏朗德聖讓當熱利市、日本長野冬季奧運的滑冰會場、日本戶田賽艇場大會堂、日本千葉大瀧溫室酒店及輕井澤新美術館等收藏。他也榮獲多項獎金及獎項,包括義大利安濟奧藝術比賽特別獎(1987年)及日本自由藝術獎(1973年)。他現在工作及居住於日本千葉。

Whitestone Gallery is honoured to present “Mizù in Taipei”, the first solo exhibition of works by Japanese artist Tetsuo Mizù. Opening on 12 October and view through 1 December 2019, the exhibition will display his works since the 1990s. The opening reception will be held on 12 October, from 4 pm.

Mizù is widely celebrated for his visually captivating abstraction that brings together the geometrical shapes and layered of primary colour. As a young artist, Mizù studied at the Musashino Art School and joined the Free Art Association in Tokyo, where he began developing his unique style of post-Gutai aesthetics and modernism that was distinct from the traditional Japanese paintings. Mizù’s paintings are richly coloured, precise compositions that its rational structure is composed of intuitive texture and dramatic brushstroke. A mysterious yet poetic language has been created through a combination of the shapes, colours, and patterns inspired by the maritime signal flag. Decoding the meaning of words, Mizù speaks of his internal states and consciousness through pure colours and compositions. Cultural differences have then been transcended, reaching to an ideal harmonic utopia.

“Mizù in Taipei” introduces over 50 works by Mizù that spot on his works created from 1990 to 2019, including oil on canvas, work on paper, as well as wood installation. The square canvas, SAMBA, is formed by five flags and three colours. Samba, a Portuguese word, meaning a genre of rhythmic dance music in Brazil, resonates with the enthusiastic and energetic red perfectly. As for Untitled, this portrait has shown traces of both European and Eastern Asian styles. His use of thin lines to depict female figure has not only indicate the influence of Italian artist Amedeo Modigliani and Japanese artist Tsuguharu Foujita, but also create a similar texture of the western painting.

Tetsuo Mizù was born in 1944 in Tokyo. Mizù graduated from Musashino Art School in 1973. He then moved to Europe and lived in various cities, including Rome and Paris. His works had been exhibited in Japan and across the world, such as National Maritime Museum, Rotterdam (1997); Palais de Chaillot and National Marine Museum, Paris (1994); “Chagall, Dali, Picasso, Melois, and Mizù” at B.I.A.F. Art Inter AG, Barcelona (1989). He also held solo exhibitions in Belgium, Germany and Hong Kong.

Mizù’s works reside in the permanent collections of St. Anne’s Church, Rome; Saint-Jean-d’Angély, Charente-Maritime; Olympic Winter Games, Nagano; Boat Race Toda, Toda; Otaki Herb Garden Hotel, Chiba; as well as Karuizawa New Art Museum, Karuizawa. He is the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including the Special Prize at the First Representation Art Concours in Anzio (1987) and Free Art Award (1973). He lives and works in Chiba, Japan.