「我隨著時間反省自身的改變,我的記憶從悲傷到開心,從開心到懊悔,這些都是依據心情狀態而改變。從逐漸逝去的記憶中找尋顏色,並把它們疊加起來去反應我當時的狀態—當天的顏色,當天的記憶。」— 金德漢

白石畫廊隆重呈獻韓國藝術家金德漢(Kim Deok Han)的全新作品展《迭色》。今次將會是金德漢於台灣的首次展覽,也是與白石畫廊的第二次合作。本次展覽將於2020年8月15日開幕並展出至9月13日,而展覽中的系列作品則強調出記憶及空間的重要性。

金德漢選取東方瓷漆作為創作媒材,並運用砂紙打磨塑造出色彩及質感起伏多變的表面。他的作品巧妙地遊走於抽象之間,迴避一切字面意義,喚醒記憶中的時間和空間。畫作經過仔細打磨,形成了視覺上的微妙變化,也塑造獨特的感官領域。

金德漢在大學主修傳統漆器,故非常擅長和熟悉漆器的特質以及其多元性的運用。他創作時會先塗上一層薄漆,隨之將漆和高嶺土混合到第二層。然後遂層添加顏料,同時以砂紙打磨。這種方式會留下上層的痕跡,並露出下層隱藏的顏色。漆以沉澱或侵蝕的方式嵌入畫布中。透過這種具系統且有機的創作過程,每幅畫都會有條不紊地進入反思狀態。他注重細節和重複性,而其富有表現力的技法也呼應著東方的創作手法,以令人陷入沉思的繪畫方式,作為一種意象、敘述性或靈性的獻祭。

金德漢1981年出生於韓國大邱,他現生活及工作於首爾。他畢業於明知大學藝術品修復與維護碩士學位(2015年)及培材大學韓國傳統漆器學士學位(2009年)。同時,他於2019年取得第二屆特殊文化藝術基金會藝術獎。他的作品曾在韓國和世界各地展出,如韓國大田李應魯美術館(2020)、香港白石畫廊(2019)以及紐約摩拉藝廊(2016)等等。

“I reflect on my moods that have changed over time. My memory is steadily changing from grief to joy, and from joy to regret, depending on my state of emotion. I search for the colours in my faded memory and pile them up to have them reflected on my current mood—the colours of the day, and the memory of the day.” – Kim Deok Han

Whitestone is pleased to present “OVERLAID”, an exhibition of new paintings by Korean artist Kim Deok Han. This is Kim’s second exhibition with Whitestone and his first solo exhibition in Taiwan. Opening on August 15 and view through September 13, 2020, it will include a series of works that collectively underscore the significance of memory and space.

Kim’s paintings adopt East Asian lacquer with sandpaper to create surface oscillating in colour and texture. His works reside delicately and elusively in abstraction, evoking the time and space of memories yet evading all literal reference. With their polished layers, Kim’s paintings register and generate minute shifts in perception, echoing resonance while creating their sensory silhouette.

Beginning with a blank canvas, Kim first applies a thin layer of lacquer. Then, he mixes lacquer with white clay to the second layer. In controlled and repetitive movements, Kim continues to add colours one layer at a time, often using sandpaper to polish the lacquers. Such practice leaves traces of the upper layer and sometimes reveals the hidden layers. The pattern is embedded onto the canvas in the manner of sedimentation or erosion. Every painting is methodically brought to a state of reflection by this systematic yet organic process. With his attention to detail and repetition, Kim’s expressive technique also reveals strong affinities with various Eastern practices, in its intensely meditative pattern-making, used to create imagery, narrative, or spiritual votive.

Kim Deok Han was born in Daegu in 1981. He now lives and works in Seoul. Kim graduated with an M.F.A. from Myongji University specializing in Art Conservation and Restoration in 2015 and a B.F.A. from Pai Chai University specializing in Korean Traditional Lacquering in 2009. He is also the recipient of the Arts Award at the 2nd Incarnation Cultural Arts Foundation (2019). His works had been exhibited in Korea and across the world, such as Lee Ungno Museum, Daejeon (2020), Whitestone Gallery, Hong Kong (2019) as well as Art Mora Gallery, New York (2016).