白石畫廊榮幸地宣佈於台北空間舉辦「具體人在台北」群展,展出極具歷史意義的具體藝術協會成員的作品。
「具體派」,全名為「具體藝術協會」,是日本首個激進的戰後藝術團體。成立於1954年,具體派致力超越抽象,強調精神與材質之間的細緻互動,令藝術作品能述說出一個個故事。「具體」的涵義是指「以具體的證明來呈現我們自由的精神」。吉原治良帶領著具體派,以「不效仿他人」、「創造前所未有的事物」為宗旨,要求成員創作獨一無二的藝術。1957年造訪日本的法國藝評家米歇爾塔皮耶則以「不定型藝術在日本的典範」向具體派給予高度評價。近年日本國立新美術館、美國紐約古根漢美術館、法國Musée Soulages Rodez等舉辦具體的回顧展,重新肯定與審視該團體於戰後藝術上的表現。
「GUTAI-Jin」這個詞被翻譯為具體人,最初由輕井澤新藝術博物館提出。當時博物館在籌備一個重要的具體派展覽,他們開始收集這個團體的藝術家的檔案。在這個過程中,他們意識到大多數的回顧都集中在具體派時期,即由1954年的成立到1972年的解散。然而,這個團體的藝術家在解散之後繼續他們的活動,並繼續遵循吉原治良的指導原則「做以前從未做過的事情!」因此,具體人代表了具體派藝術家在創作生涯中從不停止創新的精神。博物館透過一系列的展覽及研討會介紹並倡導這個詞語。
白石畫廊台北空間延續「具體人」這個展覽主題,將展出吉原治良、上前智祐、元永定正、白髮一雄、鷲見康夫、嶋本昭三、田中敦子、前川強、松谷武判、名坂有子、向井修二、松田豐的作品。並邀請到向井修二蒞臨展覽開幕與進行藝術家談話,向井修二於1959年首次於具體美術展上展出作品,並於1961年正式成為具體協會一員之後活躍其中至協會解散為止,其獨特的符號作品,現今看來仍然充滿前衛感,並曾獲邀為路易威登與香奈兒進行藝術裝置。

參與藝術家:
吉原治良 / 上前智祐 / 元永定正 / 白髮一雄 / 鷲見康夫 / 嶋本昭三 / 田中敦子 / 前川強 / 松谷武判 / 名坂有子 / 向井修二 / 松田豊

Whitestone Gallery Taipei is pleased to announce GUTAI-JIN in TAIPEI, a group exhibition that displays profound historical artworks done by artists from the GUTAI Art Association.

“GUTAI”, officially known as GUTAI Art Association, is the first radical, post-war artist group in Japan. Founded in 1954 aiming to go beyond abstraction, they embodied the delicate interaction between spirit and matter that ultimately enables art to tell a story. The name “GUTAI” was meant to “present concrete proof that our spirit is free.” Led by Jiro YOSHIHARA, he instructed the members “Don’t copy anyone!”, and “Do something that was never seen before.” Michel Tapié, the French art critic who visited Japan in 1957, had introduced the group as “a paradigm of Art Informal (informal art) in Japan” to the world. GUTAI retrospectives were held in various countries as a recognition of this post-war art movement including the National Art Center, Tokyo in Japan, The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York (U.S.) and Musée Soulages Rodez in France.

The word GUTAI-JIN (具體人), which translates as “GUTAI People”, was firstly conceived by the Karuizawa New Art Museum. While preparing for a major GUTAI exhibition, the museum began to collect an archive of artists from the collective. In this process, they realized that the majority of pas retrospectives had focused on the so-called “GUTUI period”, which ranged from the collective’s foundation in 1954 to its dissolution in 1972. However, artists who belonged to the group continued their activities after the disbandment and continued to follow the YOSHIHARA’s guiding principle: do what has never been done before! Thus, the museum has introduced and advocated for this term as “continuing sprit of GUTAI” through a series of exhibitions and conferences.

Whitestone Gallery Taipei continues the spirit of GUTIN-JIN, showcasing the works by Jiro YOSHIHARA, Chiyu UEMAE, Sadamasa MOTONAGA, Kazuo SHIRAGA, Yasuo SUMI, Shozo SHIMAMOTO, Atsuko TANAKA, Tsuyoshi MAEKAWA, Takesada MATSUTANI, Yuko NASAKA, Shuji MUKAI, and Yutaka MATSUDA. We also invite Shuji MUKAI to attend the opening reception and participate in an artist conversation. In 1959, MUKAI exhibited his works for the first time in GUTAI Exhibition. He then became a member until the disbandment. His avant-garde works are composed of various types of symbols that filled the canvas, spaces, even installations, drawing him to the collaborations with luxury brands such as Louis Vuitton and Chanel.

Represented artists:
Jiro YOSHIHARA / Chiyu UEMAE / Sadamasa MOTONAGA / Kazuo SHIRAGA / Yasuo SUMI / Shozo SHIMAMOTO/a> / Atsuko TANAKA / Tsuyoshi MAEKAWA / Takesada MATSUTANI / Yuko NASAKA / Shuji MUKAI / Yutaka MATSUDA