台北白石畫廊很榮幸地宣布,我們即將於2018年8月11日至9月23日隆重推出美國藝術家戴爾·奇胡利(Dale Chihuly)最新個展「奇胡利:台北」(CHIHULY: Taipei),呈現藝術家50年創作生涯中最具代表性的系列作品。本次展覽延續香港白石畫2018年3月於H Queen’s新空間的開幕特展「奇胡利:香港」(CHIHULY: Hong Kong),也是藝術家自1992年在台北市立美術館「奇胡利:玻璃藝術」個展及1994年在高雄市立美術館「奇胡利:建築中的玻璃」個展後,睽違25年的在台首次個展。

「奇胡利:台北」將展出全新與未曝光作品,探索奇胡利如何在媒材、光影、空間與型態中不間斷的嘗試並突破限制。其中,《花道:層疊琉璃》為特別為此展所創作的最新作品,此系列運用了一種特別調製的釉,把處於流體狀態的基底玻璃熔燒到層層疊起的一片片玻璃上,以此形成相互交疊的組構,在2017年於美國阿肯色州本頓維市的水晶橋美國藝術博物館(Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art)的「奇胡利:在藝術空間與樹林」展覽中,獲得熱烈迴響。

除此之外,為「奇胡利:台北」所創作的新作包括:看似細膩巧妙,實則沈重費工的《盤繞》系列;以狂野不對稱形狀和鮮豔色彩為名的《波斯》系列;透過鮮豔而簡約的花狀元素,打造出類似溫室花園之壯觀裝置作品的《花朵》系列;由數以百計的個吹製玻璃所組成的《吊飾》系列;從牆上懸掛的玻璃作品《壁飾》系列;我們亦將展出藝術家最著名的《編籃》系列40週年紀念未曝光作品;受美國原住民織品啟發下的《圓柱》系列;以及《繪畫》系列,不僅展現藝術家的創作能量,也一窺他如何透過活潑、抽象的輪廓,向他的工作團隊溝通其創作理念。

白石畫廊為積極致力於國際藝術交流的日本畫廊,其台北內湖空間由日本建築大師隈研吾主掌設計,創造出極簡又充滿無限可能性的空間。因此,我們很榮幸邀請到奇胡利工作室(Chihuly Studio)主席兼執行長萊斯莉‧奇胡利(Leslie Jackson Chihuly)蒞臨8月11日的開幕並致詞,也在此誠摯邀請您一同透過這難能可貴的機會,感受奇胡利藝術裡的生命與熱情!

  • 戴爾・奇胡利
    紅莓與赭色壁飾
    2018
    191.0 × 122.0 × 61.0 cm
    © Chihuly Studio

  • 戴爾・奇胡利
    紅莓與赭色壁飾
    2018
    191.0 × 122.0 × 61.0 cm
    © Chihuly Studio

Whitestone Gallery Taipei is honored to present “CHIHULY Taipei”—the latest solo gallery exhibition by American artist, Dale Chihuly—from 11 August through 23 September 2018. Showcasing some of the artist’s most representative series over his 50-year career, this exhibition is a continuation of Whitestone Gallery Hong Kong H Queen’s opening exhibition “CHIHULY Hong Kong” in March 2018. It also marks the artist’s first solo exhibition in Taiwan since “Dale Chihuly: Glass” at the Taipei Fine Arts Museum in 1992 and “Chihuly: Glass in Architecture” at the Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts in 1994.

“CHIHULY Taipei” presents a different set of artworks; different to the series from our Hong Kong exhibition, and demonstrates both the artist’s desire to stretch the limits of his chosen media and his ongoing experiments in light, space and form. One important highlight of the exhibition is Chihuly’s new Glass on Glass paintings, a series that uses a specially formulated enamel to paint on sheets of glass, which are then placed atop one another to create overlapping compositions. This series was met with great enthusiasm during the exhibition “Chihuly: In the Gallery and In the Forest” exhibition at Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Bentonville, Arkansas, in 2017, and CHIHULY Taipei will showcase a new piece especially made for the exhibition titled, Ikebana: Glass on Glass.

Other series on view in the Taipei solo exhibition includes “Rotolo”, created out of heavy coils of glass wrapping around a core base to show the substantial yet intricate and delicate nature of glass;“Baskets”, a series which recently celebrated 40 years; “Persians”, an aesthetic feast of wild asymmetry and color; “Fiori”, a spectacular installation that shows the artist’s fascination with gardens; “Cylinders” featuring glass-thread drawings on vessels inspired by Native American textiles; “Chandeliers”, which are comprised of hundreds of blown glass forms; “Sconces”, which are glass sculptures that project from a wall, and Drawings, which show not only the artist’s creative energy, but also provide some insight into how he communicates with his hotshop team with expressive and immediate guidelines.

We are honored to have invited Leslie Jackson Chihuly, President and CEO of Chihuly Studio, to present a welcome talk on the opening day of 11 August 2018. We cordially invite you to join this precious opportunity to see Chihuly’s new works and share his passion for art.

  • Dale Chihuly
    Cranberry and Sienna Sconce
    2018
    191.0 × 122.0 × 61.0 cm
    © Chihuly Studio

  • Dale Chihuly
    Cranberry and Sienna Sconce
    2018
    191.0 × 122.0 × 61.0 cm
    © Chihuly Studio