白石畫廊: 輕井澤很榮幸地宣布,我們即將舉辦備受矚目雕塑家坪田昌之的個展—「未知的記憶」。「未知的記憶」意味著孩童時期在山澗或湖邊遊玩,所體驗到的詭譎感。
基於對木造古蹟寺廟的喜愛,使藝術家開始運用木頭為媒材創作。某天他感覺到自己的作品被上了一層紅色,從此以後,這種微妙的「跡象」成為藝術家主要的靈感來源。
坪田昌之留意到人類因種族、信仰、語言與經濟社會背景之相異,而有所不同。這讓我們對於同一種色彩的觀看,也能產生不一樣的情感與理解。因此,孩童時期「未知的記憶」是如何影響各式各樣觀看藝術品的人們,是此次展覽所探討的主旨。
坪田的作品因其獨特的顏色與材質而別具吸引力,木頭本身即為會呼吸的有機物,即使被鋸斷了,仍持續變化,構成渾然天成的型態與光影。藝術家的繪畫與裝置作品,亦將於展覽首次呈現。我們誠摯地邀請您一同馳騁於他豐富的想像力、色彩與藝術。

Whitestone Gallery Karuizawa is pleased to announce the much-revered sculptor Masayuki Tsubota’s solo exhibition: Unknown Memory. “Unknown memory” implies “the eerie sense” that everyone experiences when they are children, perhaps while playing in the mountains or along the riverside.

Learning about wooden architecture such as ancient temples presented the artist an opportunity to create wooden sculptures. One day, Tsubota sensed a presence from his artwork painted with red pigments, which was placed behind him. Since then, this “sense” has been one of the primary themes that has inspired the sculptor.

Tsubota observed that humans are divided by their races, religions, languages, economics, and so on. The fact that the human retina is distinctive, depending on the race of an individual, allows people to see differently even when they look at the same colour. How does this sense called “unknown memory” affect humans, who are diversified by these elements, when they observe his works? This is the main theme around which his exhibition is structured.

Tsubota’s artworks attract art audience through their unique usage of colours, wood – which is a living material and breathes ever after it has been shaved, their form that has distinctive vibrations, and the shadows cast by his works. His drawings and installations, which are open to the public for the first time, will be on display in this exhibition. We cordially invite you to enjoy this spectacular presentation of ideas, colours, art, and imagination.