白石畫廊輕井澤將舉辦當代藝術家MADARA MANJI的第二次個展“ VORTEX”。

MADARA MANJI充分利用了日本江戶時代傳承下來的木紋金屬工藝(Mokume-gane)製作的立體作品在日本和海外都受到了高度關注。 2017 年在輕井澤新美術館舉辦了首次個人展覽『Antagonism and Transcendence (對立與超越)』,他運用其獨特素材和技巧體現了與他人不相容的自我內心的感受和想法,並在其彼此反复碰撞與對抗中勇於挑戰更高的高度.給觀眾留下了生動鮮明的印象。

歷經三年之後,原本以“個人”規模為主的“融合與共存的力量”主題已擴展到“自我與他人的關係”。各種異質素材上投射出每個人內心都存在的矛盾,例如“慾望與理性”,以及社會與時代的悖論。通過運用需要強大力量成就的技法將它們在作品中進行組合,世間萬物都聚合在一個物體里,從而加度了緊迫感並演變成了無法控制的能量漩渦(vortex)。

MADARA MANJI作品中對立的個性互相排斥也相互交融,自我毀滅的能量獨立轉化的狀態,似乎代表了人類精神的普遍性,又同時暴露了現代社會的傲慢。感覺就像是在其脆弱瞬間即逝的美中發現不容侵犯的高貴。

Whitestone Gallery Karuizawa is pleased to announce an exhibition “VORTEX” by Japanese contemporary artist MADARA MANJI―his second solo exhibition in Karuizawa.

MADARA MANJI attracts great deal of attention both domestically and internationally by his unique metal sculptures based on Japanese traditional ‘Mokume-gane’ technique, which is a sort of toreutic. In his first solo exhibition “Antagonism and Transcendence” held at Karuizawa New Art Museum in 2017, he made a vivid impression on visitors with his excellent use of materials and techniques, in which he visualized how his inner contradiction or discrepancy which are originally never compatible with others sublime by repeating collision and confrontation.

In this exhibition, three years thereafter, MADARA MANJI extends his theory and philosophy “the power of being mixed and together” that he has treated as an individual scale to “the relationship between self and others”. Universal contradiction like “desire and reason” or existing paradoxes in times and societies are effectively projected onto various materials by the magic of MADARA MANJI. In his universe, where all those elements are unified with his technique requiring strong energy, sum of the things wiggles in an object and transforms into an uncontrollable vortex of power, gradually increasing tensions.

While the phase where contradicted forces are transformed from ‘self-destruction’ to ‘self-reliance’ after confrontation and integration seems to represent unchangeable quality of human beings, it also exposes our arrogance in the society. His aesthetics flickering in the delicacy keeps nobility.