“2017年,我的靈魂忽然沒有了光明,如同眾生一直擁有的厚愛都走了,孤獨,但我不願寂寞……我走向了宇宙,走向了無態,看到了天時的運轉和即將帶來的新的時空和光明,天引領我靈魂本能,明我心,見我性,實我願,沒有末法就沒有未來。”
– 任思鴻

白石畫廊欣然呈現任思鴻個展《覺》,他是出生於1960年代的傑出的中國藝術家,在80年代後期開始大放異彩,為塑造中國當代藝術史現貌的一員。此次展覽展出任思鴻近三年的創作,包括始於2017年的“黑白”系列,始於2018年的“色彩的價值”系列,以及在2020年疫情期間創作的“花神”系列作品。與以往的風格不同,任思鴻採用了更表現和抽象的方式創作,以巨大的能量啟發觀者。

1967年出生於河北,任思鴻在年輕的時候便發現了自己繪畫的天賦,於是就讀於河北師範大學油畫系、隨後到北京中央美術學院入讀助教班。畢業後他入駐圓明園藝術村,這是中國最早成立的藝術家村落(1989 – 1995年),代表著當時最前衛和最具實驗性的精神。圓明園藝術村後被移除,藝術家們需要尋找新的地方作為工作室,由此北京的各個地區湧現出新的藝術家村落如宋莊、798等,而任思鴻在2006年搬入了一號地國際藝術區。如同許多60年代出生的藝術家們,他經歷了許多以集體主義和社會主義為中心的社會運動,更傾向用一種幽默、荒誕和諷刺的手法去詮釋自己的經驗和記憶。任思鴻的油畫作品曾於1995年入選中國第三屆油畫展,雕塑作品曾於2013年參加威尼斯雙年展的平行展《未曾呈現的聲音》。

繪畫對於任思鴻而言,是一個不斷進化的過程。每次創作新的系列作品時,他都要求自己不要用習慣去畫畫,從而創作出不一樣的作品。2017年是轉折的一年,因為他的父親在這一年離世了。他感到失去了一部分的自己,對形式和顏色也都失去了興趣,於是將自己沈浸在黑白當中,並開始用“無象”的方式繪畫。這個過程就如同在時間中行走,與其浮浮沈沈。他沈迷於黑白中的“無”的概念,相信“無產就是最大的產”。逐漸地他通過描繪黑白治癒了自己,也使自己更加強大起來。

自從2018年以來,任思鴻開始尋找色彩的價值,他賦予紅、藍、黃三原色它們各自意義。任思鴻認為紅是太陽和能量,象徵著自由和奉獻。藍色象徵著月亮和智慧,黃色象徵著地球和道德。他將色彩化作宇宙的各種元素,並且通過使用這些色彩試圖理解宇宙運行之道。他認為當今是一個“缺德”的時代,因此他更鼓勵大家打開心扉,擁抱情感、愛和能量,這些不能被量化、卻也是最有價值的東西,從而讓世界變得更美好。

2020年初由於疫情的爆發,出來活動的人少了,整個世界似乎突然停止了。但是任思鴻卻感到一股安靜的激情,一種從未見過的、不熟悉的、甚至是恐懼的感覺在湧動。這個經歷讓他感到些許的興奮,也讓他有了更多的時間和自己對話。他打開心扉,如同花蕾開出了花,給予美好且溫暖的事物以生命力。於是他開始畫花,用極盡豐富的色彩和活躍的筆觸描繪“花神”和希望。

任思鴻一直試圖通過繪畫了解世界的運行和人性,在這個過程中他學會了仁慈。他希望他的作品也同樣能把這股能量帶給觀者,儘管這不總能如願 – 有些人會在看到他的作品時感到害怕,被它的形式所震攝。“當人在看作品,其實也是作品在看人;它會揭示出觀者的個性,讓他們更加誠實地面對自己。

“In 2017, my soul lost its shines, just like the love that all beings have always had is gone. I’m all alone, but I don’t want to be lonely…I walked towards the universe, towards formlessness, and saw how time operated, as well as the new time and space and the light that are set to come. My soul is led by instinct, I see more clear with my heart, understand my nature, and fulfill my wishes. Without the Degenerate Age, there’s no future.”
– Ren Sihong

Whitestone Gallery is pleased to present a solo exhibition of Ren Sihong, one of the most prominent Chinese artists that were born in the 1960s and have flourished since the late 1980s, significantly shaping China’s contemporary art history. The exhibition will showcase Ren Sihong’s works from the recent 3 years – ‘Black and White’ started in 2017, ‘Value of Colors’ started in 2018, and ‘Spirit of Flowers’ started in 2020 during the pandemic period. Stepping away from his previous style, Ren has adopted an expressionist and abstract way of painting for recent works, and hopes to enlighten the viewers through the intriguing energy.

Born in 1967 in Hebei, Ren Sihong found his talents in painting when he was young, and therefore enrolled in Oil Painting Department in Hebei Normal University and later on continued his study in Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing. After graduation he became one of the residential artists at the Old Summer Palace (Yuan Ming Yuan), the earliest artist village in China’s modern history (1989 – 1995), representing the most avant-garde and experimental spirits at that time. As Yuan Ming Yuan was removed, the artists had to find new places to establish their studios, various art villages and districts such as Song Zhuang and 798 have been developed across the city of Beijing, and in 2006, Ren Sihong moved into No.1 International Art District. Like many artists that were born in the 60s, Ren experienced social movements that held collectivism and socialism at heart, therefore he tended to express his experiences and memories with a humorous, grotesque and sarcastic approach. His oil paintings were selected for the 3rd Annual Exhibition of Chinese Oil Painting in 1995, and his work of sculptures were shown at ‘Voice of the Unseen’ exhibition at Venice Biennale in 2013.

Painting for Ren Sihong is evolving all the time. Every time he starts a new series, he has the urge to let go of what he used before and fight against old habits, in order to create something different. The year of 2017 was a major transition for the artist, as his father passed away that year. Due to the great loss, Ren wasn’t interested in shapes or colors, he dived into black and white as well as a “formless” way to paint. For him it is as if walking through time, and resonating with the ups and downs. He is fascinated by the ‘void’ in black and white, believing that valuing simplicity can achieve more. Gradually he has healed himself through painting, and has become stronger than ever.

Since 2018 Ren has reviewed the value of colors, and he started by giving meanings to the three primary colors, red, blue and yellow. For Ren, the color of red represents the Sun and energy, it is also the symbol of freedom and giving. Blue for him represents the Moon and wisdom, and yellow represents the Earth and morality. He turns the colors into elements of the universe, and makes sense of the universe through painting in these colors. He sees the world is experiencing a severe decline of morality in this era, therefore he encourages the viewers to open their hearts for emotions, love and energy, which are the most valuable things in the world that can’t be measured by quantity, so to make the world a better place.

Since the beginning of 2020 with the outbreak of COVID-19, there has been a lot less people around and the world seemingly comes to a stop. However for Ren Sihong, he senses that deep down there is some sort of undercurrent going on – it is something unprecedented, unfamiliar, and even fearful. He is excited to experience these, and has more time to have conversations with himself. He opens up his heart as if a blossom, letting something warm and pretty come to life. Therefore he started to paint flowers, using opulent colors and vivid brushstrokes to depict the spirits and hopes.

Ren Sihong strives to understand the rules of the world and humanity through painting, and during the process he learns kindness. He hopes his work could bring the same energy to its viewers and leave them enlightened, even though it’s not always the case – some people are frightened to see his work, intimidated by its forms and shapes. “When people are looking at an artwork, the artwork is looking at them in the meantime – how they see it also reveals their personalities, making them be honest with themselves.”