白石畫廊香港榮幸宣布舉辦群展《關乎色彩》。承接去年於台灣舉辦展覽的成功,我們很高興將展覽延續到香港。展覽由Matteo Galbiati策展,帶來4位意大利當代藝術家Natale Addamiano (b. 1943)、Alberto Biasi (b. 1937)、Pino Pinelli (b. 1938)、Turi Simeti (b. 1929)的作品。展覽將以色彩作為主題,於作品中呈現不同的感覺、靈感及氛圍。

Natale Addamiano的《星斗滿天》(I cieli stellati)系列作品表露出藝術家構想中的世界觀,描繪他對傳統含蓄又達意作畫方式的熱情。當中如詩般深遠的浪漫主義,超越作品想表達的界限。無邊無際的夜空使色彩活潑地詮釋無數的可能性,並重新煥發細膩的情感。光線與大氣層、雲朵與星河繞過自身的意義,成為精彩的銀幕,映在眼中,顯在心中。

Alberto Biasi是Gruppo Enne的其中一位創辦人,他是意大利藝術「新潮流」裏「程式藝術」(Programmed Art)的重要一員。他的幾何作品畫作以數學上的精確度和對稱性,探索畫作和雕塑創作時運用視覺錯位的可能性。藝術家致力與觀眾拉近距離,並在不同的視覺環境中更新互動過程。知覺與動作、改變或變化、虛或實,都充當著創新的元素,影響創作本身的結構,使其實質及直覺性面貌不斷改變。

Pino Pinelli是「分析繪畫」(Analytic Painting)中最具連貫性和權威性的大師之一,其特點是繪畫的材料成分以及藝術家與畫作之間的關係。他摒棄了畫布的界限,以廣闊帶有活力的形式創作。畫作乘載著元素的觸感,宏觀地彰顯出色彩底下裝載的感性;微觀的精髓之中,他打破與祛除「畫作」的統一性,使其爆發出極端的結果。藝術家擺脫了繪畫的規範及對幾何結構的嚴謹,使色彩演變為具體的行動,散落並呈現在環境中。

Turi Simeti為「零社」(Zero group)成員,他是1965年在Lucio Fontana位於米蘭的工作室舉辦《零前衛》(Zero Avantgarde)聯展的其中一位年輕藝術家。他以不斷重複的橢圓形為標誌性創作元素,表達具分析性直覺的個人特質。他將單一的色彩進行堆疊展示出絕對的寂靜,強調物件本身的質感。藝術家藉著勾勒複雜的結構和隱含的能量,為作品帶來活潑且外向的感覺。

今次展覽透過色彩引發出觀眾的思考—具體與破碎、單色或鮮明、視覺或聯想、厚重或散亂。這四個對比融會各種文化及藝術的新知及各自的故事,並將藝術家的反思與美學投射至現今社會所見,展現出堅定不移的信念,並延續下去。

Whitestone Gallery Hong Kong is delighted to announce the opening of In the Matter of Color, curated by Matteo Galbiati. Following the success of the exhibition in our Taipei gallery last year, we are excited to present the exhibition in Hong Kong, with works of four Italian contemporary artists Natale Addamiano (b. 1943), Alberto Biasi (b. 1937), Pino Pinelli (b. 1938) and Turi Simeti (b. 1929). Color, as the crucial theme of the exhibition, is developed in different inclination, inspiration, and temperament through their works.

Natale Addamiano’s I cieli stellati series represents the epicenter and horizon of his imaginary, describe his passion for a traditionally implicit and expressed painting. The herald of lyrical and profound romanticism, surpass the very limits of the landscape the works try to convey. The infinite night sky enlivens the color into countless possibilities of interpretation; and renewed in the oversensitive sensibilities they move and solicit. Light and atmosphere, clouds and galaxies bypass their own representation and become a screen of lively suggestion for the eyes and the soul.

Alberto Biasi, the co-founder of Gruppo Enne, is a key player of the “New Trends” in Italian art in the context defined as Programmed Art. His geometric works explore the possibilities of optical illusions in painting and sculpture with their mathematical precision and elaborate symmetry. The artist aims towards a close relationship with the viewer that in it reveals a process of active, dynamic, and renewed interaction in time and in the varying circumstances of sight. Perception and movement, alterations or changes, apparent or virtual, act like innovative elements that strive to acting upon the structure of the work that constantly changes its physical and intuitive appeal.

Pino Pinelli was one of the most coherent and authoritative masters of Analytical Painting, characterized by the material components of the painting and the relationship between the painting and the artist. His creation grows without boundaries of a canvas, into expansive and dynamic forms. They take on the tactile form of elements that macroscopically highlight the sensibility manifest in the derma of the color itself; in the micro of the hidden essence what erupts to the extreme consequence is the act of breaking and defeating the unity of the “painting.” Leaving behind the canonical dimension of the painting and the rigor of structured geometry, his color material was able to evolve into a concrete act, scattered and present in the environment.

Turi Simeti, a member of the Zero group, is one of the young generation artists present in the 1965 group show Zero Avantgarde in Lucio Fontana’s studio in Milan. A primary element, the oval, is used as a multiplying sign of his artistic act, safeguarding the identity of his own personal analytical intuition. The act of painting in him leads the absolute silent monochrome layering of colors to encounter the sense of the object’s physicality. The canvas’s tension in enlivened in the extroversion according to a practice that outlines all the complex structure of relations, constructions, and energy forces that act under and behind them.

Concrete and shattered, monochrome or vibrant, optic or evocative, thick or scattered, the chromatic material leads to four considerations that, across their own stories and intermingling the artistic-cultural events and happenings, project their own reflection, and resulting aesthetics, into all of today’s relevance, which is the sign of unwavering work that continues today and has lots to tell and say.