白石畫廊香港榮幸地宣佈於香港舉辦《具體人在香港》群展,展出極具歷史意義的具體藝術協會及其同輩的藝術家的畫作及藝術裝置。

具體派是日本戰後最重要的前衛組織,由一群年輕藝術家及其領導人吉原治良於1954年在日本蘆屋市創立。該團體以極具實驗性的方式創作藝術而聞名,包括表演、繪畫、及環境裝置,以及對個人主義和創造力的不懈追求。

「具體藝術是我們想要展現自由精神的渴望。同時也希望透過藝術,我們能在沒有拘束之下透過各種呈現的手法去獲得嶄新的體驗。」

– 具體派宣言,1956年

到1972年該團體解散時,具體派與Guiseppe Capogrossi、山姆·弗朗西斯、約翰·凱吉、Alfred Leslie和喬治·馬修等著名的西方藝術家建立了密切聯繫並聯合舉辦了展覽。近年來,具體派在紐約古根海姆博物館和東京國家藝術中心等國際機構舉辦的回顧展中得到重新評估。

Gutai-JIN這個詞被翻譯為具體人,最初由輕井澤新藝術博物館提出。當時博物館在籌備一個重要的具體派展覽,他們開始收集這個團體的藝術家的檔案。在這個過程中,他們意識到大多數的回顧都集中在具體派時期,即由1954年的成立到1972年的解散。然而,這個團體的藝術家在解散之後繼續他們的活動,並繼續遵循吉原治良的指導原則:“做以前從未做過的事情!”因此,具體人代表了具體派藝術家在創作生涯中從不停止創新的精神。博物館通過一系列的展覽及會議介紹並倡導這個術語。

《具體人在香港》是第一個以“具體人”為標題展示相關藝術家的畫廊展覽。展覽將利用白石畫廊位於香港市中心H Queen’s七樓及八樓兩層的展覽空間。八樓空間將專注於具體藝術協會主要成員的重要作品,包括吉原治良、白髮一雄、嶋本昭三、上前智祐、田中敦子、前川強、鷲見康夫、元永定正、名坂有子。七樓的空間將分為兩個部分,一個展示向井修二的特別個展,另一個展示與具體藝術協會有交換想法的藝術家包括金井俊滿、堂本尚郎、保羅·詹金斯、喬治·馬修和圖里·斯梅蒂。

這是香港畫廊首次展出向井修二覆蓋著符號的三維作品,以及他的新裝置藝術《重繪價值》,其中包括覆蓋著重複的符號的金條,讓令人垂涎的貴金屬滲入新的價值,脫離它的物質價值。

《具體人在香港》不僅重新審視具體派藝術家,還重視參與藝術家如何在職業生涯中運用他們的創造力。展覽突出個別藝術家,而非強調整個運動。這是通過展示每位藝術家的重要作品來完成的,無論創作的年份如何。作為調查計畫的一部分,畫廊正在出版一篇國際知名建築師安藤忠雄撰寫的關於具體派的論文,並在畫廊舉辦由向井修二主講的講座,討論具體派及其核心精神。

Whitestone Gallery Hong Kong is proud to present the group exhibition “GUTAI-JIN in Hong Kong,” featuring paintings and installation works by key members from historic Gutai Art Association and contemporaries.

GUTAI (具体) is Japan’s most significant avant-garde collective of the postwar era, founded by a group of young artists and their leader, Jiro Yoshihara in Ashiya, Japan in 1954. The group is best known for its experimental approach to art, which combines performance, painting and environmental installations, and its restless pursuit of individualism and creativity.

“It is our desire to embody the fact that our spirit is free. It is also our hope that no restrictions will be placed on the desire to experience fresh sensations through every form of expression,”

– Gutai Manifesto, 1956

By the time of the group’s disbandment in 1972, Gutai had fostered close associations with and staged collaborative exhibitions with notable western artists such as Guiseppe Capogrossi, Sam Francis, John Cage, Alfred Leslie and Georges Mathieu. In recent years, Gutai has been re-evaluated in retrospective exhibitions mounted by major international institutions such as the Guggenheim Museum, New York and the National Art Center, Tokyo.

The word GUTAI-JIN (具体人), which translates as ‘Gutai people’, was first conceived by the Karuizawa New Art Museum. While preparing for a major Gutai exhibition, the museum began to collect an archive of artists from the collective. In this process they realized that majority of past retrospectives had focused on the so-called “Gutai period,” which ranged from the collective’s foundation in 1954 to its dissolution in 1972. However, artists who belonged to the group continued their activities after the disbandment and continued to follow Yoshihara’s guiding principal: “Do what has never been done before!” Thus, “GUTAI-JIN” came to represent Gutai artists who never ceased to create innovative art throughout their careers. The museum introduced and advocated for this term through a series of exhibitions and conferences.

“GUTAI-JIN in Hong Kong” represents the first gallery exhibition to the relevant artists under the title of “GUTAI-JIN”. The exhibition will utilize Whitestone Gallery’s two-floor exhibition space on the seventh and eighth floors of the H Queen’s Building in downtown Hong Kong. The eighth-floor space will focus on significant pieces from key members of Gutai Art Association; Jiro Yoshihara, Kazuo Shiraga, Shozo Shimamoto, Chiyu Uemae, Atsuko Tanaka, Tsuyoshi Maekawa, Yasuo Sumi, Sadamasa Motonaga and Yuko Nasaka. The seventh-floor space will be divided into two sections, one presenting a special solo exhibition of Shuji Mukai and the other showing artists who cross-pollinated ideas with the Gutai Art Association: Toshimitsu Imai, Hisao Domoto, Paul Jenkins, Georges Mathieu and Turi Simeti.

This is the first time a Hong Kong gallery has shown Shuji Mukai’s three-dimensional works covered with symbols and his new installation work, “Overpainting of Value” which comprises gold bars covered with repetitive symbols that imbue the coveted precious metal with new value that is separate from its materialistic worth.

“GUTAI-JIN in Hong Kong” takes fresh look on not only at Gutai artists, but also at how participating artists applied their creative energies throughout their careers. The exhibition highlights individual artists rather than emphasizing the movement as whole. This is accomplished by presenting important works by each artist regardless of the year of the creation. As part of the survey program, the gallery is publishing an essay about Gutai by Tadao Ando, an internationally acclaimed architect, and will host a gallery talk in which artist Shuji Mukai will discuss Gutai and its core spirit.