(2021年3月27日,香港)– 白石畫廊欣然呈獻日本藝術家矢柳剛個展《地球.家》。展覽為矢柳剛於香港第二次個展,將展出一系列油畫、絲網版畫、雕塑和混合媒體等作品,展示了藝術家多年積累週遊世界的旅程及其創作的堅持。

矢柳剛於日本北海道出生,近七十年來通過具異國情調的生動作品體現他對地球和生物的欣賞之情。作為牧場主人的兒子,矢柳剛的童年被馬匹包圍著成長。與動物和自然的互動充份影響了藝術家往後的旅程和藝術追求。從帶廣農高中畢業後,矢柳剛入讀星藥科大學,並於後來中途退學,於橫濱的美國駐軍基地從事自學並從事繪製工作。1957年,矢柳剛踏上了穿越南半球包括巴西、非洲和亞洲其他地區的週遊世界旅程。

矢柳剛的創作以其零碎的構圖、充滿玩味的氛圍和萬花筒般的圖案而廣為人所知。此外,作品中經常出現斑馬紋似的清晰明確的黑線條,以環形和不規則移動的形式出現,隱若透視了日本傳統書法元素。矢柳剛將他獨特的流派命名為“普浮”──其黑白線條與鮮明色彩形成強烈對比,結合浮世繪元素,將傳統的日本美學與普普藝術融合,同時反映日本流行文化的當代詮釋。儘管矢柳剛的實踐植根於日本美學,但他的表現卻充滿想像力和異國情調。矢柳剛與巴西的野生動物、大草原和熱帶氣候的相遇使旺盛的生命力象徵瀰漫在他的作品中。如“Who Owns the Earth”(2007年)和“Illusion”(2012年)就是反映他旅程的例子。矢柳剛的視覺經常從鳥瞰或扭曲的角度出發,邀請觀眾一起激發想像力並將拼圖拼湊在一起。“A Sense of Wonder and Eye Signal Gesture”(2013年)正帶出這種眩暈效果,令人聯想起迷幻藝術;而 “The Infinity of Black and White”(2010年)中的單色錯覺則仿傚1960年代歐普藝術。矢柳剛藝術的另一個特質是它的重複性──在他的作品中可找到很多相似的構圖、色彩和異國情調。就似梵高經常製作同樣構圖或特定主題的不同版本;畢竟正正是這位荷蘭後印象派大師啓發矢柳剛成為一名畫家。

展覽包括一系列呈獻給巴西的作品。藝術家早期作品“Pantanal”(1958年)的火紅色彩彷彿暗示著他在巴西逗留期間所經歷的興奮和激情。“Rio Night View”(1961)是在藝術家離開巴西一段時間後創作的作品,所採用的顏色和主題明顯更深沉。

展覽延續至畫廊的另一層,矢柳剛的版畫作品將展示在藏書角和首個房間。1965年至1968年之間,矢柳剛在巴黎工作並在Atelier 17跟隨銅版印刷大師海特(S. W. Hayter)學習版畫製作,為他的蝕刻和版畫技術實踐奠定了基礎。“Love Animal Journal”和“Earth. Family”系列是在1970年至1980年之間創作的一系列輕鬆幽默的彩色版畫,作品強調藝術家對生物與宇宙之間關係的浪漫觀點。藝術家表示「我們應該追尋更廣的領域;我認為帶廣是我的故鄉,但聖保羅和巴黎也是我的家。與新朋友、文化和語言相遇亦是藝術形式的一種。」

自1954年以來,矢柳剛的作品一直在世界各地展出,並參加了聖保羅雙年展、巴黎雙年展等國際藝術博覽會。他的作品被收藏於重要私人和公共收藏,如北海道立帶廣藝術館、東京國立近代美術館、紐約現代藝術博物館、俄亥俄州辛辛那提美術館,紐約洛克菲勒基金會,聖保羅藝術博物館等。矢柳剛目前在日本生活及工作。

(27 March 2021, Hong Kong) Whitestone Gallery Hong Kong is pleased to present “Earth. Family”, by Japanese artist Go Yayanagi. The artist’s second solo exhibition in Hong Kong brings together paintings, screen prints, sculptures and mixed media works from Yayanagi’s archive, and reveals the full scope of Yayanagi’s artistic voyages as well as the persistence of his practice.

For nearly seven decades, the Hokkaido-born artist Go Yayanagi has been manifesting his appreciation for the earth and all-beings through his vivid canvasses of abundant exoticism. As the son of a rancher, Yayanagi grew up surrounded by horses. His everyday life interaction with animals and nature influenced Yayanagi’s future itinerary and artistic pursuit. After graduating from Obihiro Agricultural High School, Yayanagi briefly entered Hoshi Pharmaceutical College in Tokyo, only to leave college midway and become an autodidact painter at the US Army base in Yokohama. In 1957, Yayanagi embarked on a two-year journey through the Southern Hemisphere in Brazil, Africa and other places in Asia.

Yayanagi’s art is immediately recognizable for its fragmented compositions, playful atmosphere and kaleidoscopic patterns. In addition, the clear black lines in form of zebra patterns─in circular and irregular motions occurring in almost all his paintings and prints are referencing Japanese calligraphy. By contrasting with bright colours and combining Ukiyo-e elements, Yayanagi named his unique genre ‘Pop-Uki’, which fuses the traditional Japanese form with pop art and simultaneously reflects a contemporary rendition of the Japanese popular culture at that time. Although Yayanagi’s practice is rooted in Japanese aesthetics, his voice became distinctly imaginative and exotic. Yayanagi’s encounter with the wildlife of Brazil, safari animals and tropical climates are pervading his paintings with symbols of travels and plantations, “Who Owns the Earth” (2007) and “Illusion” (2012) are such examples of his travelogue. Often from a Bird’s-eye view or distorted perspective, Yayanagi’s sceneries inspire imagination and invite viewers to puzzle the pieces together. “A Sense of Wonder and Eye Signal Gesture” (2013) creates such a vertigo-effect that reminds viewers of Psychedelic Art, whereas the monochrome optical illusions in “The Infinity of Black and White” (2010) is exemplary of 1960s Op Art.

Another attribute of Yayanagi’s art is its repetition. The same compositions, colour planes and exoticism can be found throughout his entire oeuvre. Similarly to Van Gogh, who often produced more than one version of a composition or particular subject. After all, it was the Dutch Post-Impressionist painter who inspired Yayanagi to become an artist himself.

The exhibition includes a series of paintings dedicated to Brazil. “Pantanal” (1958), Yayanagi’s earliest work on display, features fiery colours that allude to the excitement and passion that the artist experienced during his sojourn in Brazil. “Rio Night View” (1961) was painted after the artist had long left Brazil and the colours employed and subject are visibly darker and deeper.

“Earth. Family” continues on the second floor of the gallery and Yayanagi’s print works are presented in the library section as well as the first room. Between 1965 and 1968, Yayanagi was in Paris and his apprenticeship under S.W. Hayter at Atelier 17 laid the foundation of his etching and printing practice. “Love Animal Journal” and “Earth. Family” are both series of light, humorous and colourful prints created between 1970 and 1980 emphasizing the artist’s romantic view on the relationships between all organisms and the universe. According to the artist: “You should seek further fields. I think of Obihiro as my hometown, but São Paulo and Paris are also my homes. Encountering new people, cultures and languages can be forms of art”.

Since 1954, Yayanagi’s work has been exhibiting all over the world including the Biennale in São Paulo and Paris, etc. His work is entered into important private and public collections such as the Hokkaido Obihiro Museum of Art in Obihiro, The National Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, Cincinnati Art Museum in Ohio, The Rockefeller Foundation in New York, and São Paulo Museum of Art in São Paulo, to name a few. The artist currently lives and works in Japan.