白石畫廊十分榮幸呈現以人體和感官認知為主題的雙人展「身體與感官」。展覽將展出冰島概念藝術家艾莎.比約克 (Æsa Björk) 及義大利西西里畫家法比奧.莫迪卡 (Fabio Modica) 的作品,展示藝術家為表達情感和刺激感官所運用的各種媒體。人體長期以來一直是藝術家的靈感源泉。傳統上,身體經常被用來探索隱喻、美感和性等主題。漸漸地,人們對身體固有的感知及其用於創作藝術的方式感興趣。故此比約克和莫迪卡亦對大眾從作品中衍生出來的心理狀態及情緒反應感興趣。

艾莎.比約克是一位視覺藝術家,她使用玻璃和新媒體進行跨學科的研究。比約克出生於冰島雷克雅未克,曾在愛丁堡藝術學院玻璃系學習,並創立了位於卑爾根的實驗及玻璃雕塑藝術畫廊S12。比約克通過一系列實驗創作,包括攝影、影像及玻璃作品,探討人類和其感知的內、外在二分法。玻璃在比約克的藝術作品擔當重要角色,對人類的力量和脆弱二元論作出類似的詮釋。「Impression II」是兩件大型攝影作品裝置,展示了藝術家自己的身體被數百個玻璃球體重壓,閉著雙眼,像是往自己向內看。觀眾的視覺從身體抽離,只能夠通過玻璃球觀察扭曲的軀體。她的實驗影像作品「SYN」,是冰島語中的「視覺」,可被解釋為「內在的視覺」,記錄了在重負荷玻璃球下呼吸所產生的強制性的物理運動。在這裡展示了既脆弱又有力的人體脈搏,就如玻璃材質,可透明又可密不透光,可輕盈又可沉重。除了藝術裝置,展覽還展出一系列印在玻璃上的數碼印刷品。「Vision I-III」是遮蓋住一半眼睛的三幅像素化圖像,暗指我們觀察世界周圍的微妙差異,在觀察的過程中對好奇心和被保護的需求中間保持平衡。比約克的裝置完美地利用了展覽空間,提升觀眾的情感聯繫。

法比奧.莫迪卡的作品通過一系列描繪女性面孔及身體的繪畫來探索人類的地形和經歷。畢業於博洛尼亞大學、擁有歷史和藝術品保育碩士學位的莫迪卡在學習期間,受到古典文藝復興和神話的啟發,使帶著卡拉瓦喬之光(Caravaggesque light)的人物形象成為他主要的描繪主題。2002年是標誌著他從以往標誌性的創作轉向半抽象風格的一年。莫迪卡長期的現實主義在鮮明線條和厚重色彩強烈影響下逐漸被取代。他對裸體藝術的激情、以及對抽象的深究完美地反應在他的作品「Dreaming Motherhood」和「La ricerca della luce」中。然而,他最著名的作品是女性肖像,她們引人注目的目光穿透觀眾,將他們投射到坍塌的時間中 – 同時融合過去、現在與未來。莫迪卡的臉孔分享著記憶的碎片,並通過塗抹萬花筒般的繽紛色彩,將人類的面貌描繪成靈魂的地形。這次展覽中的「Gnosis」系列畫作將展示其創作成果。「Gnosis」在希臘語中意為「知識」,捕捉住個體經歷頓悟和自我啟示的狀態。畫家還致力於通過藝術來拓展自我意識和刺激大腦,並邀請觀眾從繪畫作品中體驗這種超次元。

從傳統繪畫、影像裝置到玻璃球體,「身體與感官」給觀眾帶來如影院般多彩的體驗,透過藝術家的作品引導大家探索脆弱的情感、親密感以及心靈和情緒的複雜關係,以激發他們的意識。

在「身體與感官」展覽的同時,白石畫廊和輕井澤新藝術博物館正在威尼斯舉辦「異曲和鳴」群展,比約克及莫迪卡的作品也在展覽中展出。展期至2019 年 11月24日。

白石畫廊營業時間於每週二至週日上午11時至晚上7時
更多資訊請洽:
info@whitestone.hk
+852 2523 8001

傳媒垂詢,請聯絡:
Occasions PR
葉煒巍 (Chris) T: (852) 3678 0135 chris@occhk.com
梁芷晴 (Zita) T: (852) 3678 0102 zita@occhk.com

Whitestone Gallery Hong Kong is proud to present a joint exhibition, “BODY and SENSES”, with the theme of the human body and sensory perceptions. Showcasing works of Icelandic contemporary glass artist Æsa Björk and Italian painter Fabio Modica, the exhibition highlights a variety of media used by the artists to express the emotional states and stimulate the senses. The human body has long been a source of inspiration for artists: it was often used to explore metaphor, beauty and sexuality. However, there was a growing interest in the perceptions inherent to the body and the way it was applied to artistic creation. Similarly, Björk and Modica are interested in the psychological landscape and emotional responses that are derived from their works.
Æsa Björk is a visual artist who works cross-disciplinary with glass and new media. Born in Reykjavik, Iceland, Björk studied at the Glass Department of Edinburgh College of Art and founded the Bergen-based studio for experimental and sculptural glass art, S12, in Norway. Björk examines the complex duality between the inner and outer layers of the human being and human perceptions, through a series of experimental works including photography, video and glass objects. Glass plays an important role in Björk’s artistic works, transliterating an analogous dualism of strength and vulnerability in human existence. “Impression II” is an installation of two large photographs displaying the artist’s own body weighed down by hundreds of glass spheres, with her eyes closed, as though she is looking inward. Viewer’s consciousness is separated from the body, as the distorted body can only be observed through the glass spheres. In her experimental video work “SYN”, meaning ‘vision’ in Icelandic, can be interpreted as the ‘inner vision’. It records the forced physical movements caused by breathing under the heavy load of spheres. The human pulse here is revealed in both its fragility and strength, like the glass material is both transparent and opaque, light and heavy. Alongside installation works, a series of digital prints on glass are shown: “Vision I – III” are three pixelated images of a semi-covered eye, alluding to the subtle differences in the way we observe the world around us, balancing between curiosity and the need for protection from what we might find. Björk’s installations take active use of the exhibition space and enhance viewers emotional connectedness.
Concurrently, Fabio Modica’s works explore the human topography and experiences through a series of paintings depicting the female faces and bodies. Graduated from University of Bologna with a Master’s Degree in History and Preservations of Works of Art. During his academic years, he was inspired by the Classical Renaissance and mythologies. The human figure wrapped up in a Caravaggesque light was his major subject matter. The year 2002 marked a departure from his representational style towards a semi-abstracted texture: his enduring realism was gradually dismantled by a compelling drive for sheer lines and thick smudges of color. Modica’s passion for nude art and cultivation in abstraction are perfectly reflected in his paintings, “Dreaming Motherhood” and “La Ricerca della Luce” (Search for the Light). Yet his most celebrated works are female portraits, whose gaze is hypnotic and pierces through the viewers, projecting them into a collapsed time – merging the past, present and future at the same time.
Modica’s faces share fragments of memories and by applying luscious paint in kaleidoscopic colors, he portrays the human visage as a topography of the soul. The outcome is a series of paintings entitled “Gnosis”, which is showcased in this exhibition. “Gnosis”, meaning ‘Knowledge’ in Greek, captures individuals experiencing a state of epiphany and self-revelation. The painter is also devoted to engage art to the expansion of self-awareness and cerebral stimulation, and invite the viewers to experience this transcendent dimension from his paintings.
From traditional paintings, video installations to glass spheres, “BODY and SENSES” provides the viewers with cinematographic experience by stimulating human consciousness including complexity of the mind, feelings of fragility and intimacy through the works of two artists.
In conjunction with “BODY and SENSES”, Whitestone Gallery and the Karuizawa New Art Museum present a group exhibition entitled “DIVERSITY FOR PEACE!” in Venice, in which Björk’s installation “Shield III”(in collaboration with contemporary musician, Tinna Thorsteinsdottir) and Modica’s paintings are shown. The exhibition runs through November 24, 2019.

Whitestone Gallery opens from Tuesday to Sunday, 11am to 7pm

For further enquiries, please contact:
info@whitestone.hk
+852 2523 8001

For further media enquiries, please contact:
Occasions PR
Ms. Chris Yip T: (852) 3678 0135 chris@occhk.com
Ms. Zita Leung T: (852) 3678 0102 zita@occhk.com